On Entering, and Losing, a Contest

I entered, and lost, a contest for inclusion into a YA anthology. In retrospect (as in after reading the winning entries), my entry was not suited to this anthology.

And I’m okay with that.

Here’s why: I wrote something, on a deadline. I edited–thoroughly edited–something on a deadline. I steeled my nerves and submitted my writing. To me, this last bit is the most important part. I’ve been really afraid of “sharing” my work with other people. Fear, my friends, has no place in a writers life.

The fearful don’t get published.

No guts, no glory.

After I wept bitter tears of disappointment (kidding, kidding), I picked myself up, revised one more time (just in case) and sent that short story out into the world yet once again. This time I engaged in more thorough research and found a paying market in which I think my submission has a better chance of thriving.

And here’s the thing. If this short story doesn’t get accepted at this particular market, I’ll do the same thing–revise, rewrite, resubmit. Over and over and over again until someone DOES accept my submission. And pays me for it.

In the mean time, I’m writing another short story. Because…

No guts, no glory.

One response to “On Entering, and Losing, a Contest

  1. Keep it up. Rejection will make you stronger if you let it. You have a great attitude about it. Only the brave and thick-skinned survive!

Leave a Reply

